top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureK8 (Sonic OYANer)

How to Help Write Shy Quiet Characters

today I am going to hopefully help you how to write a shy and quiet character.



Now, I am better at the more snarky kind of characters, but I have had experience with some shy characters and here are some tips that have helped me when it comes to writing these kinds of charries.


So, one of the things I've found is that: Not all shy characters stay shy forever.

Surely this character has a friend or a relative that they are comfortable talking to, and if they don't at the beginning of their story SURELY someone has to come along to try and pull them out of their shell eventually right?! I mean, if they are super shy we, as the audience, are never gonna get to hear the voice of this character because they don't trust anyone to talk to. Now, my character Georgia is pretty shy, and when people talk to her that she has never met before, she is pretty quiet and will basically only give very short answers to their questions (if they ask her any) She won't exactly smile unless she feels comfortable, and she definitely won't start any conversations, which brings us to our second point!


Most shy characters will not start any conversations

If a shy character is approached by a person that they don't really feel comfortable with they will. not. initiate. the. conversation. From what I've found, they like to listen more than talk so just be aware of that too. Trust me I forget this rule a lot and them people are like, "bruh, she wouldn't do that." :D Blushing Blushing doesn't just come from thinking about the person you really like or love. Blushing also comes when you're embarrassed. Now, just be aware that this tip isn't just for shy characters, I just see it more often in shy characters. If a character says something wrong or hears people laughing behind them and thinks they're laughing at them, 9 out of 10 times they'll blush without even thinking about it. This post isn't very long but I hope it helps y'all in some ways!

-K8

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thoughts on COVID-19 pt. 2

Warning: Ranting warning from several teens. In a previous blog post I gave my thoughts on COVID. That was three months ago and a lot has happened since then. In the world, and in my own personal life

How to Get Readers For Your Novel (OYAN post)

Something I've often seen from those young writers just starting out on their writing journey is that they don't ever get readers from their novels. They may get a random critique here or there and th

Thoughts on COVID-19

Guys. This Corona Virus thing has been hard. Trust me. I know. Plans have been canceled. People are stuck inside going absolutely insane. People are bored out of their minds because they've done every

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page