top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureK8 (Sonic OYANer)

How to Get Readers For Your Novel (OYAN post)

Something I've often seen from those young writers just starting out on their writing journey is that they don't ever get readers from their novels. They may get a random critique here or there and their friends may read it, but still, that may only be three or four people, and they may not even be excited about the story like you are. So. what's the deal? How do we get those readers to come flooding in to love the story that you have been working so hard on?

Here are some things that I do to get people pumped up about my story before I show them.



1. Don't Post the Story Right Away

When I was a brand new baby OYANer I posted my first book and... not a lot of people read it. This really discouraged me because I was excited about people reading and critiquing my story, and not a lot of people did. I think I only had one person who really liked my story. But I was like... How do I get people to care about this story? I ended up throwing that idea away because it seemed like nobody cared about it. Some of the reasons why I didn't have any readers was because I was brand new to the forum and I didn't have any OYAN friends, so no one really cared about this newbies book. If you are somewhat new to the forum and find yourself discouraged because you don't have any readers. don't be. Wait for a little longer, get people interested, and I'm sure you'll have readers in no time!


2. Developing Characters

Now, if you are a more solo character developer, this isn't really for you, but for me, I have found that if I develop a character with someone or a bunch of people, then the characters turn out better, but also, it gives the other person/people to know your character more, so when you post your story or whatever you do, the person or people who helped you developed your character will be excited to see the character they already know and love in their own story, and they will want to read it!


3. Talk About it

It's amazing how simply talking about something you're excited about can get people interested. If you really love the characters and the story, it can be contagious to the people you talk to. Now, I'm not saying you should go up to one of your friends and start rambling on about your book, but if you mention you're writing a book and they ask what it's about, you have the floor. You can tell them whatever you want.


4. Dropping Hints

Now, I wasn't sure what to title this one, and I haven't used it, but I have seen other people use this way and it works! it kind of falls under the 'Talk about it' section but you drop the hint, then talk about it before you post the book anywhere. If you like to draw or make collages, this is kind of for y'all. If you make a collage or draw your character and show it to people, telling them a little bit about the character, they may ask questions and it gives you an opportunity to brag about your favorite character ;)


these are just a couple of ways you can get people interested in your story. There are probably a million more ways, but these are some of the ways that have helped me get readers for my novel throughout the years. So I really hope it helps you!


-K8

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thoughts on COVID-19 pt. 2

Warning: Ranting warning from several teens. In a previous blog post I gave my thoughts on COVID. That was three months ago and a lot has happened since then. In the world, and in my own personal life

Thoughts on COVID-19

Guys. This Corona Virus thing has been hard. Trust me. I know. Plans have been canceled. People are stuck inside going absolutely insane. People are bored out of their minds because they've done every

Character Personality Struggles

Something I've often struggled with, (And I know others struggle with it too) is when your Characters don't do what you want them to do. Maybe their personality changed -cough- I mean, developed, and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page